About the Division

The Missoula Police Department has 100 sworn positions ranging from the rookie patrol officer all the way to the Chief. Of those 100 positions, 75 are assigned to the Patrol Division. The Patrol Division includes six Patrol Teams, one Traffic Unit, one Street Crimes Unit, one K-9 Unit, and School Resource Officers.


Since police work is a 24 hours a day, seven days a week job, the day is split into three shifts. Officers work four 10-hour shifts per week.

  • Day shift is from 7 a.m. through 5 p.m.
  • Early night shift is from 4:30 p.m. through 2:30 a.m.
  • Late night shift is from 9:30 p.m. through 7:30 a.m.

What should I do if I'm pulled over by a police officer?


For more information, email the Police Department or call at 406-552-6300.

Patrol Officers
Missoula Police Department Patrol Officers