Historic Preservation Commission


  • 6:00 p.m.
  • First Thursday of each month
  • City Council Chambers
         140 W Pine Street
         Missoula, MT 59802

Agendas and Minutes

Go to current agendas and minutes (August 2019 to present.) 

On the Agendas and Minutes Page, use the filter button to the right of the search bar to filter by date or by the name of a board or committee.

Archived minutes and agendas: City Council and Board and Commission records from June 18, 2012, to July 19, 2019.

Subcommittees of the Historic Preservation Commission

Ad Hoc Sub-Committee Preservation Celebration/Month Planning - Agendas and Minutes - meets on a as-needed basis


The Historic Preservation Commission is charged with establishing a local historic preservation program, integrating historic preservation into local, state and federal planning and decision-making processes.

The historic preservation program is designed to promote the preservation of historic and prehistoric sites, structures, objects, buildings and historic districts. The Historic Preservation Commission is comprised of volunteers from Missoula’s neighborhoods, businesses and preservation professionals, and was established by the Missoula City Council in 1989.


  • Seven regular members comprised of three professional members, a downtown representative, three at large members, and two at large alternates.  All members must reside in Missoula County.
  • Two-to-three-year terms staggered

Professional members must possess professional experience in such fields as architecture, history, architectural history, landscape architecture, archaeology, city planning, preservation law, historic preservation, American studies, cultural geography, or cultural anthropology or a closely related field.  Professional members must, to the extent possible, meet the Secretary of Interior’s Professional Qualification Standards found at 36 C.F.R 61 and the standards listed in the Montana Certified Local Government Manual.  

The downtown representative must work or reside in downtown Missoula as shown on the Historic Preservation Commission Geographic Region Map.

Historic Preservation Commission members are appointed by the City Council.

Members Start of Term End of Term
James R. McDonald - Professional Jan. 7, 2019 Dec. 31, 2020
Jamie Lockman - Alternate 2 Jan. 7, 2019 Dec. 31, 2020
Steve Adler - Professional Jan. 7, 2019 Dec. 31, 2020
Kent Watson - At Large Jan. 1, 2020 Dec. 31, 2022
Julia McCarthy-McLaverty - At Large Feb. 6, 2017 Dec. 31, 2019
Paul Filicetti - Downtown Jan. 1, 2020 Dec. 31, 2022
Cathy Bickenheuser - Professional Jan. 1, 2020 Dec. 31, 2022
Vacant - Alternate 1 Jan. 1, 2020 Dec. 31, 2022
Bruce Haroldson - Regular Member Jan. 7, 2019 Dec. 31, 2020


Bylaws 2019 (PDF)

Missoula Municipal Code (MMC)

City Council Committee

Land Use and Planning

For more information please contact Emy Scherrer, the Historic Preservation Officer, at 406-552-6630.


Position vacancies are advertised in the media approximately one month in advance. Interested in serving on a board? These are the vacant positions we are recruiting now.